

MINUTES

STATUTORY COUNCIL MEETING

6pm Tuesday 15 November 2022 Community Hub Maryborough, and livestreamed

COUNCIL MEMBERS

Grace La Vella
Liesbeth Long
Geoff Lovett
Chris Meddows-Taylor
Gerard Murphy
Wayne Sproull
Anna de Villiers

CONFIRMED AT THE COUNCIL MEETING HELD ON 22 NOVEMBER 2022



1. COMMENCEMENT OF MEETING AND WELCOME

Due to technical issues the meeting started at 6.08pm.

In accordance with section 25(3)(a) of the Local Government Act 2020 (the Act), the CEO took the Chair until the conclusion of the Mayoral election.

IN ATTENDANCE

Councillors

Geoff Lovett
Liesbeth Long
Wayne Sproull
Grace La Vella
Chris Meddows-Taylor
Anna de Villiers

Officers

Chief Executive Officer, Lucy Roffey General Manager Corporate Performance, Mick Smith

2. APOLOGIES

Cr Gerard Murphy.

3. LEAVE OF ABSENCE

4. CONFLICTS OF INTEREST

It is noted that under Regulation 7 (1)(d) of the Local Government (Governance and Integrity)Regulations 2020, Councillors are exempt from conflict of interest requirements when the matter concerns the nomination of a Councillor for election to the office of Mayor or Deputy Mayor.



5. ELECTION OF MAYOR

SUMMARY/PURPOSE

The purpose of this report is to provide for Council to elect a Councillor to the office of Mayor.

The election was carried out in accordance with the Local Government Act 2020 and Council's Governance Rules.

MOTION:

1. That the length of term of the Mayor be set at one year.

Moved: Cr Lovett

Seconded: Cr De Villiers

Carried (unanimous)

The CEO called for nominations for the position of Mayor.

Cr Meddows-Taylor nominated Cr Grace La Vella, seconded by Cr Long.

There being no other nominations, Cr Grace La Vella was declared Mayor.

Following the election, the Mayor took the Chair and spoke briefly on her intentions for the coming term.



6. ELECTION OF DEPUTY MAYOR

SUMMARY/PURPOSE

The purpose of this report is to provide for Council to determine if it wishes to elect a Councillor to the office of Deputy Mayor, under section 20A of the Local Government Act 2020.

MOTION:

- 1. That Council determine not to elect a Deputy Mayor.
- 2. That the issue not be considered for the remainder of the current term

Moved: Cr Lovett

Seconded: Cr Meddows-Taylor

Carried (unanimous)

7. APPOINTMENT OF REPRESENTATIVES TO COMMITTEES AND ORGANISATIONS

SUMMARY/PURPOSE

Councillors have the option to be appointed to various committees and statutory or regional bodies. The purpose of this report is to provide information to Council regarding current Committees of Council, Council representation committees and to seek appointments to these bodies.

MOTION

That Council nominate its representatives to the committees and organisations as detailed in the table below.

Committee/Statutory Body Representative	Committee/Statutory Body	Representative
---	--------------------------	----------------



	SHIRE COUNCIL
Municipal Association of Victoria	Cr De Villiers (Primary nominee), and Cr La Vella
Audit and Risk Committee	Cr Murphy and Cr Lovett
Australia Day Committee	All Councillors
Rural Councils Victoria	Cr Sproull
Rail Freight Alliance	Cr Meddows-Taylor
Municipal Emergency Management Committee	Cr De Villiers
Municipal Fire Management Committee	Cr Murphy
Energy Breakthrough Committee	Cr Long
Employment Matters Advisory Committee	Cr Meddows-Taylor, Cr La Vella and Cr Lovett
Climate Action Stewarding Group	Cr Long and Cr Sproull
Walking and Cycling Advisory Group	Cr Long (Cr La Vella as alternative)

Moved: Cr Long Seconded: Cr Sproull

Carried (unanimous)

The Mayor presented the Municipal Association of Victoria Councillor Service Award for Cr Geoff Lovett for more than twenty years' service as a Councillor. The award was acknowledged with acclamation.

8. MEETING CLOSURE



The Meeting closed at 6.26pm

The next Council Meeting will be held at 6pm Tuesday 22 November 2022.