

# MEETING OF COUNCIL MINUTES

Tuesday 16 November 2021 6:00pm Community Hub and streamed

# MEMBERSHIP

Councillors Liesbeth Long Gerard Murphy Wayne Sproull Geoff Lovett Grace La Vella Chris Meddows-Taylor Anna de Villiers

> Confirmed at the Council Meeting held on 23 November 2021

# 1. COMMENCEMENT OF MEETING AND WELCOME

The meeting commenced at 6.00pm

As the purpose of the meeting includes the election of the mayor, the CEO commenced chairing the meeting

# IN ATTENDANCE

### Councillors

Liesbeth Long Gerard Murphy Wayne Sproull Grace La Vella Chris Meddows-Taylor Anna de Villiers

#### Officers

Chief Executive Officer, Lucy Roffey General Manager Corporate Performance, Mick Smith General Manager Community Wellbeing, Martin Collins

## 2. APOLOGIES

Cr Geoff Lovett

## 3. MAYORS REPORT ON THE PAST YEAR

The Mayor provided a verbal report on the past year.

#### **Council Resolution**

That Council note the Mayor's report.

Moved Cr Meddows-Taylor Seconded Cr Liesbeth Long

#### Crs Long, Murphy, La Vella spoke to the motion.

## CARRIED

Ms Roffey thanked the mayor for his work and support within the organisation.

### 4. ELECTION OF MAYOR

#### **Council Resolution**

That Council determine the length of term of the Mayor.

Moved	Cr Murphy
Seconded	Cr La Vella

That Council determine the length of term of the Mayor to be one year.

#### CARRIED

The Chief Executive Officer formally called for nominations for the position of Mayor.

# **CONFIRMED MINUTES**

Cr Murphy nominated Cr Chris Meddows-Taylor for the position of Mayor.

Moved	Cr Murphy
Seconded	Cr La Vella

Cr Chris Meddows-Taylor accepted the nomination.

The CEO called for other nominations for Mayor but as there were no further nominations. The CEO, Ms Roffey declared Cr Chris Meddows-Taylor as the Mayor of Central Goldfields Shire for the 2021-22 year.

## CARRIED

The CEO, Ms Roffey, presented the Mayor Chris Meddows-Taylor with the Mayoral medallion.

Mayor Chris Meddows-Taylor assumed the chair for the remainder of the meeting.

## 5. APPOINTMENT OF REPRESENTATIVES TO COMMITTEES AND ORGANISATIONS

#### **Council Resolution**

That Council nominate its representatives to the committees and organisations as detailed in the table below.

Committee/Statutory Body	Representative
Municipal Association of Victoria	Cr La Vella* (Primary nominee) and
	Cr De Villiers
Audit and Risk Committee	Cr Murphy and Cr Lovett
Australia Day Committee	All Councillors
Rural Councils Victoria	Cr Lovett
Grampians Central Waste and Resource Recovery Group	Cr Sproull
Rail Freight Alliance	Cr Meddows-Taylor
Economic Development Taskforce	Cr La Vella and Cr Sproull
Central Victoria Greenhouse Alliance	Cr Long
Municipal Emergency Management Committee	Cr De Villiers
Municipal Fire Management Committee	Cr Murphy
Energy Breakthrough Committee	Cr Long
Employment Matters Advisory Committee	Mayor, Cr La Vella and Cr Lovett
Climate Action Collaboration	Cr Long and Cr Sproull

# **CONFIRMED MINUTES**

ſ	Walking and Cycling Advisory Group	Cr La Vella

Moved Cr Murphy Seconded Cr Sproull

CARRIED

# 6. URGENT BUSINESS

Nil.

## 7. MEETING CLOSURE

The Chair declared the meeting closed at 6.29 pm

Chains useloakend

Confirmed at the Council Meeting held on 23 November 2021.

Chair, Councillor Chris Meddows-Taylor